I see glimmers of another path.

A frequently traveled road

I neglected and never chose.

Twinkles come to me,

little star possibilities in poetry.

 

There is a life that could have been,

is not mine,

a life that is lived now

once upon someone else’s time.

 

I see winks from a benefactor,

a friend, turned sage

then finally a betrayer

I was stabbed with a kiss

driving a blade in me

through a pothole of misery.

 

This new path is my choice

toting sorrow for a crucifixion

by the vilification

of an unknown savior

cock blocked and heart stopped

in a cracked rear view

that took a heavy bullet

and steered me from disaster.

Leave a Reply

