I wanted to know

the effervescent smile

that glowed,

framed

in thin raven waves

below

small eyes that spoke tomes

to another

standing before me.

 

I did not know

him, to whom she spoke,

with words

and interested emotion,

glad to see though

he was not.

 

I wanted a name

to complete the face

that observed my watching

and mused for a moment

before looking away,

to continue a verbal exchange

with the other.

 

I needed

to understand why,

in her leave,

did my spirit freeze

and hold my eyes locked

when I suddenly

felt a wrench

of opportunity lost.

Inner voices screamed

communally

as I watched her go

and roughly considered

my own destiny.

One thought on “Unnamed

Leave a Reply

