Of course I was attracted,

she was my opposite.

A young, tall, blond, punk

And I,

an old, short, bald, geek

 

I made her smile,

when I could.

She had a great smile,

my barista,

Serenity’s mechanic.

A bread maker

in a teal green Benz.

 

Then she cut her hair

molding styles and colors

that crossed the rainbow.

I was done before,

even worse now.

 

Words tied and twisted

choked me

into silence.

Until one day

without breath

I saw my Nagel.

 

She sat smoking,

a living work of art

in a casual unknown

and I showed her,

her other self.

 

Photo: Illustration by Patrick Nagel

Leave a Reply

