Kenpo worked

I had never been to that club before

I was there to meet friends

they never showed

 

I decided to take someone home

my ego was

bigger than my fat ass

 

I smiled

flirted

she smiled back

I moved

we danced and I didn’t waste time

 

I didn’t know she was spoken for

wasn’t told

wasn’t warned

I didn’t know she had a boyfriend

I said

when the attack came

 

I gave as good as I got

I was fat

but I was big

and four years of Kenpo

Karate

not a master

 

they threw us out

in the street

we finished it

I got a black eye

a broken finger

 

I left him bleeding

my gifts

given generously

a broken nose

a broken arm

 

I was jacked

the Kenpo worked

 

I never went back to class.

Leave a Reply

